Skip to content Site map

2019 College Luminaries

Luminaries return to campus each year to share their advice, insights, and perspective on leading successful, meaningful lives. In doing so, the Luminaries model the ways in which a liberal arts education can lead to many different careers and forms of success.

  • Adewale Ogunleye

    Pro Bowl Defensive End, Retired — National Football League

  • Asma Khalid

    Political Correspondent — National Public Radio (NPR)

  • Brian Schwartz

    Partner and Co-Founder — SIZE and SIZE Ventures

  • Howard R. 'Skip' Elliott

    Administrator, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) — U.S. Department of Transportation

  • Jennifer Crittenden

    Author and Executive Coach — The Discreet Guide

  • Katherine Ntiamoah

    Deputy of Public Affairs and Press Officer for the Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration — U.S. Department of State

  • Katie Conovitz

    Founder and CEO — twelveNYC

  • Laura Cashill

    Director of Design Partnership Marketing — Target

  • Lisa Weinstein

    President and CEO — Signal

  • Michael Auslin, Ph.D.

    Payson J. Treat Distinguished Research Fellow in Contemporary Asia — Hoover Institution, Stanford University

  • E. Morrey Atkinson

    Senior Vice President of Global Manufacturing Operations — Bristol-Myers Squibb

  • Pat McCaskey

    Vice President and Board Member — Chicago Bears Football Club

  • Regina Bradley

    Assistant Professor of English and African Diaspora Studies — Kennesaw State University

  • Tarun Gangwani

    Head of Product, Developer Experience — Twitch

2018 Luminaries

Donna Cragle, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President — Oak Ridge Associated Universities
Jeffrey Rothenberg, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer and Academic Physician — St. Vincent Hospital
Michael O'Connor
Senior Director of Government Affairs — Eli Lilly and Company
Shanta Thake
Senior Director, Artistic Programs — The Public Theater
Thom Patterson
Senior Producer — CNN
Victor Jackovich
Former U.S. Ambassador — U.S. Department of State

2017 Luminaries

Annie Mejia
Content Developer — acm X-eBITS
David Goodman
Executive Vice President, Digital Development and Marketing — Sotheby's
Hilary Brandt
Acting Deputy Director — U.S. Diplomacy Center at the U.S. Department of State
James Grant
Founder and Editor — Grant's Interest Rate Observer
Michael Gapen
US Chief Economist and Managing Director — Barclays
Molly Watson
Former Chief Operating Officer — Tierney
Sarah Fargo
Talent Agent — Paradigm Talent Agency

2016 Luminaries

Amy Balcius
US Markets and Regions Program Director — Pricewaterhouse Coopers
Kenneth Buechler
Co-Founder — Biosite Incorporated (currently known as Alere Inc.)
Charlie Clifford
Co-Founder — Tumi Inc.
Beth Davies
Directing of Learning and Development — Tesla Motors
Eli Flournoy
Independent News Media Consultant — CNN (formerly)
James McGee
U.S. ambassador — U.S. Government
Mark Johnson, Ph.D.
Tech Advisor — GoFundMe

2015 Luminaries

Andy Carothers
Chief Operating Officer — Les Mills
Anthony DeCurtis, Ph.D.
Contributing Editor — Rolling Stone
Eric Deggans
TV Critic — NPR
Keith N. Fargo, Ph.D.
Director of Scientific Programs and Outreach — Alzheimer's Association
Libby Baney
Lawyer — Faegre Baker Daniels

2014 Luminaries

Jamie Ponce
Chicago City Director — C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group
Marie Harf
Senior Advisor for Strategic Communications — U.S. Department of State
Paul Caine
Global Chief Revenue Officer — Bloomberg Media Group
Scott J. Hultgren, Ph.D.
Helen Lehbrink Stoever Professor of Molecular Microbiology — Washington University in St. Louis

2013 Luminaries

Don Fehr
Executive Director — NHL Players Association
Lorna Schofield
U.S. District Judge — Southern District of New York
Robert Chapek
Chief Executive Officer — The Walt Disney Company

Nominate a Luminary

The Luminaries Program Council is continuously looking for outstanding alumni to feature in each year's Luminaries Weekend.

Nominate a Luminary